a little splurge

The cuter the clothing; the faster S will grow out of it.

So I have  a rule: I will only spend 20EUR or less on any one article of clothing. Its just high enough that I don’t feel completely tied to boring tees, but I still sometimes have trouble pulling out my wallet when I realize how much that is in USD or when I think to hard about how dirty it will get or whether or not it will last more than a month. I’ve stuck by this rule for two years. This rule and I were very committed.

Then I found myself in front of the children’s clothes at COS and I couldn’t resist. Aren’t the yellow polka dots adorable?

checking out her new “dweth”

 I bought it one size up thinking that she would wear it in California, knowing that I’ll miss COS like crazy among the flip-flops and Ed Hardy shirts, but I don’t think she’s going to let me pack it just yet.

caught mid-twirl

 

2 thoughts on “a little splurge

  1. Hello, I am going to Berlin this summer. I have been trying to find out where to go to buy things. I need a stroller/ babywagen for my 1 1/2 year old, and I’m also trying to find her som really nice looking clothes. A good (and LARGE) toystore would also be a must. Do you have any suggestions?

    • There is a Toys ‘R Us on Karl-Marx-Str, but I’ve never been there. Most toy stores here are smaller boutiques, but there are plenty of them.

      I usually wander around Prenzlauerberg when looking for nicer things. Die Kinderstube and Rasselfisch are two nice shops on Rykestr (they have toys and clothes) and you’ll find lots of other stores on the streets around Kollwitzplatz. The department stores (Galeria Kaufhof and Karstadt) have large toy selections, too.

      I’m sorry I don’t have any suggestions on where to buy a stroller. We brought ours over from the US. Bugaboos and Teutonias are very popular here as its important to have a large sturdy one here to get through the winters and over the cobblestones. If you read German, Himbeer magazin has lots of suggestions on where to shop and what to do with kids.

      Hope that helped! Viel Spaß!

Leave a Reply

