a day of cowboys and glühwein

There is no shortage of markets in Berlin: flea markets, farmers markets, newly open Christmas markets, and last weekend there was an Indian Market promising teepees (tipis auf deutsch)activities for kids, and exhibits demonstrating the Iroquois and Dakota way of life. We felt it was our sociological duty as Americans to go and see what the Germans could come up with. Would there be actual informative booths portraying the reality of America’s indigenous people or would it be a Winnetou celebration?

Surprisingly neither.

The first thing we saw was a tent where a man was grilling Bratwürste – not exactly the Three Sisters.   Just beyond that there was a teepee, one teepee, and inside there wasn’t an indian or even a white guy wearing a feather headdress. No, there was a cowboy. One lonely cowboy strumming a guitar and singing country songs.

Seriously Germany? Seriously?

Anyway, after the disappointment of IndianFest 2011 we headed over to Galeria Kaufhof where we bought the baby her first pair of winter shoes. I wasn’t ready to go home yet; I had been looking forward to doing something more fun, something more festive. So I convinced my husband that it would be a great idea to walk from Alexanderplatz to an open Glühwein stand near the Staatoper that I had noticed a few days ago. I had only  tried a sip of Glühwein years before in France and didn’t like it, but I thought maybe it would be different this time.

Do you see that smile on my face? That’s because I haven’t actually tried it yet.

Ugh! How do people drink that? Incidentally, I kept the mug*  to remind me of how very much I do not like mulled wine. At all. No. Yuck.

 

*For my US readers: While to-go cups are available at most, if not all, coffeeshops these days, food stalls at fairs/festivals/markets usually require that you pay a pfand  or small deposit to insure that they either get their cup back or can replace it. Its usually around 2 euro.

Leave a Reply

